Pattern Two: Reversai Socks

March 31, 2008 at 2:31 pm 12 comments

Even though we told you we would be releasing the round two pattern tomorrow, well, we just couldn’t resist a good April Fool’s Day joke. And so, without further ado or panic from those of you who have been panicking and you know who you are, here is the pattern for round two.

It’s called Reversai and it’s completely reversible. Cool, eh?

Carole’s Reversai
Carole’s Reversai

Janine’s Reversai
The designer’s Reversai.

Speaking of the designer, she is Janine Le Cras. Her bio states that she lives, works, knits and windsurfs on the tiny island of Guernsey situated between England and France in the middle of the English Channel. If she is not knitting she is dreaming about knitting, spinning, or flying across the waves at her favourite beach. She has been designing for several years and has designed for Magknits, Hipknits, Yarn Forward Magazine as well as Wooly Wonkas Fibres and The Unique Sheep. She has also designed socks for the Six Sock Kal Group on Yahoo. Pop in and see her on Ravlery : Guernseygal or at her blog

And here’s what she has to say about the Reversai design:
After reading the brief for the sock design competition I started to think about socks with a twist, something a bit different. Flicking through stitch pattern books for inspiration I spotted one that claimed to be reversible – perfect for scarves and other items that needed to be seen from both sides. This got me thinking – was it possible to knit a sock that was totally reversible…. The rest is history.
And now it’s your turn to make history. Knitting history, that is. Remember, only the first 20 finishers in each division will advance to the next round.
Good luck and have fun!

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Voting for Zombies All Kinds of Updates

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Chelsea  |  March 31, 2008 at 2:35 pm

    Tricky….very tricky. did you have to pick a day I work until 9pm?!?!?!?! I am so going out this round. People will be done before I even get home from work!!

  • 2. knittx  |  March 31, 2008 at 2:59 pm

    Like the pattern!

  • 3. Michele K.  |  March 31, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    Since I do not have that many solid or semi solid yarns on hand, I’ll be using a variegated one this go around since the pattern looks to stand out either way.

  • 4. Carrie  |  March 31, 2008 at 3:31 pm

    You know that it is the ultimate in cruel and unusual punishment to release a beautiful new pattern at the very beginning of a work week, right?

  • 5. lilymarlene  |  March 31, 2008 at 4:09 pm

    As my husband always wears his socks whichever way they present to him….these’ll be ideal for him……!

  • 6. Bridget  |  March 31, 2008 at 4:15 pm

    Gaaaaaaggggghhhhh! I didn’t bring my sock needles and yarn to work today!

  • 7. potterknitter  |  March 31, 2008 at 4:23 pm

    whoo, hoo. Got us didn’t you!

  • 8. Bonne  |  March 31, 2008 at 6:39 pm

    Oh, that’s just awful–and I happen to be home sick today. :)
    I guess I’ll just have to go ahead and start! Tee Hee!

  • 9. crochetcompulsive  |  March 31, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    SIGH! I shouldn’t be surprised…the theme for this vacation seems to be “cruel and unusual punishment”. At least the fates are treating me consistently…now if I can only find time to knit perhaps I can turn things around…

  • 10. thewoolymum  |  April 1, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    It’s my birthday, after 37 years of this, I’m getting tired of TRICKS!!! Neat pattern, though, if the phone would stop ringing, I’d get more done!

  • 11. Sabrina  |  April 3, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    I like the pattern even have the yarn but it is sitting stalled out at my daughters as she checked the mail. Wahh. Hope i can join in. Ifigured a way around my camera problem, use my scanner duh!!! So now i will have to try that out.

  • 12. Elise  |  July 18, 2008 at 1:45 pm

    How would one acquire this pattern? I love it!


Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed

March 2008
« Feb   Apr »

Recent Posts


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

